CD Tropical Infinito, by Joe Lang – Jersey Jazz

Tropical Infinito (AAM Music – 0710) is a vibrant album from Brazilian pianist/composer ANTONIO ADOLFO. For this recording, Adolfo has put together a nonet including himself on piano, Jessé Sadoc on trumpet and flugelhorn, Marcelo Martins on tenor and soprano saxes, Serginho Trombone on trombone, Leo Amuego on electric guitar, Jorge Helder on bass, André Siqueira on percussion, and Rafael Barata on drums and percussion, with acoustic guitarist Claudio Spiewak appearing on three selections. The program has four Adolfo originals plus four jazz standards, Benny Golson’s “Killer Joe" and “Whisper Not," Oliver Nelson’s “Stolen Moments," and Horace Silver’s “Song for My Father," all reflecting Brazilian samba music. “All the Things You Are" is taken as a straight ahead mainstream jazz piece. Adolfo’s arrangements are imaginative, giving his sidemen plenty of solo opportunities. The three horn players are impressive, and the rhythm section provides the kind of support that typifies Brazilian jazz, spirited, intricate and exciting. All involved sound like they are having fun throughout, and that is reflected in the response form this listener. (